Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory

SAET Mini-Conference - November 2010

The University of Illinois Department of Economics and SAET hosted a mini-conference on November 5-7, 2010 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Conference Program

Friday, November 5, 2010

Time Speaker Topic
Chair: Stefan Krasa
1:30-2:00 PM Ali Khan (Johns Hopkins)
akhan@jhu.edu
Optimal Cyclicity and Chaos in Discounted Optimal Growth Theory: An Anything-Goes Construction (Background Paper)
2:00-2:30 PM Dan Kovenock (Iowa)
dan-kovenock@uiowa.edu
The Optimal Defense of Networks of Targets
2:30-3:00 PM Scott Condie (Brigham Young)
scott_condie@byu.edu
Information Efficiency with Ambiguous Information
3:00-3:30 PM Alvaro Sandroni (Northwestern)
sandroni@kellogg.northwestern.edu
Rationalization
3:30-4:00 PM Coffee Break
Chair: Anne Villamil
4:00-4:30 PM Gabriele Camera (Purdue)
gcamera@purdue.edu
Cooperative Strategies in Anonymous Economies: An Experiment
4:30-5:00 PM Dimitrios Tsomocos (Oxford)
dimitrios.tsomocos@seh.ox.ac.uk
Debt Deflation Effects of Monetary Policy
5:00-5:30 PM Mordecai Kurz (Stanford)
mordecai@stanford.edu
The Roll of Diverse Beliefs in a New Keynesian Macro Model
6:30-6:00 PM Mark Machina (UCSD)
machina@ucsd.edu
TBA
7:30 PM Dinner

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Time Speaker Topic
Chair: John Nachbar
10:00-10:30 AM Steve Spear (Carnegie Mellon)
ss1f@andrew.cmu.edu
Endogenous Market Incompleteness Without Market Frictions
10:30-11:00 AM Erik Balder (Utrecht)
E.J.Balder@uu.nl
On Competitive Markets with Externalities and a Continuum of Agents
11:00-11:30 AM Edward Schlee (Arizona State)
ed.schlee@asu.edu
Optimal Insurance with Adverse Selection
11:30 AM-12:00 PM Luciano de Castro (Northwestern)
decastro.luciano@gmail.com
Ambiguity Aversion Solves the Conflict between Efficiency and Incentive Compatibility
12:00- 1:00 PMLunch
Chair: Wayne Shafer
1:00-1:30 PM William Thomson (Rochester)
wth2@mail.rochester.edu
Manipulation of Allocation Rules via Endowments
1:30-2:00 PM Kali Rath (Notre Dame)
Kali.P.Rath.1@nd.edu
Purification in Games with Finitely-additive Private Information
2:00-2:30 PMCoffee Break
Chair: Daniela Puzzello
2:30-3:00 PM Yeneng Sun (NUS)
ecssuny@nus.edu.sg
Large Bayesian Games
3:00-3:30 PM Beth Allen (Minnesota)
assist@econ.umn.edu
TBA
3:30-4:00 PMCoffee Break
Chair: Peter Loeb
4:00-4:30 PM Bernard Cornet (Kansas and Paris 1)
cornet@ku.edu
Financial Economies with Restricted Participation and Exchange Economies with Unbounded Arbitrage
4:30-5:00 PM Nicholas Yannelis (Illinois and Manchester)
nyanneli@illinois
A New Perspective to Rational Expectations: Maximin Rational Expectations Equilibrium
7:30 PMDinner
 
Kenneth Arrow Arrow
Gerard Debreu Debreu
Francis Ysidro Edgeworth Edgeworth
John Hicks Hicks
William Jevons Jevons
McKenzie McKenzie
Vilfredo Pareto Pareto
Adam Smith Smith
Alan Turing Turing
Leon Walras Walras